Jackson Aggravated DUI Lawyer

The penalties rise sharply for a second or third drunk driving offense or for aggravating factors in a DUI arrest. The rules and penalties are also different for underage drivers and commercial drivers accused of DUI.

With the possibility of jail, steep fines, loss of license and other severe consequences, you need to talk to a DUI lawyer right away. Jackson criminal defense lawyer Brent Brumley draws on 19 years of experience and special DUI defense credentials to protect your rights and your freedoms.

Second Offense DUI · Aggravated DUI · Underage DUI

The Jackson law firm of Brent M. Brumley Attorney at Law represents citizens of the Tri-County area and Central Mississippi accused of driving under the influence. Many of our clients have complicating factors that require knowledgeable and aggressive representation:

  • Repeat DUI — A second offense within five years may carry mandatory jail time, two-year license suspension, impoundment of your vehicle and other severe penalties. A third offense in five years is a felony crime with the possibility of state prison, high fines and five-year suspension.
  • Zero tolerance — Drivers under age 21 can be charged for driving with any alcohol in their system. An underage DUI offense carries a 90-day license suspension, but may be eligible for nonadjudication (later dismissal) if the blood-alcohol level was less than .08.
  • Truck driver — Drivers who hold a commercial driver's license (CDL) can be charged with DUI at .04 — even if they are driving their personal vehicle. A first offense is a mandatory one-year CDL suspension, and a second conviction is a lifetime CDL revocation.
  • Breath test refusal — You are subject to mandatory license suspension for 90 days on a first offense and one year for a second refusal. We can fight this in a refusal hearing.
  • Child endangerment — A DUI arrest with a child under the age of 16 in the car can be punished by up to one year in jail.
  • Injury or fatality — A DUI accident resulting in death or disfigurement is a felony punishable by a minimum prison term of four years.

· See Consequences of a DUI.

Uniquely Qualified For DUI Defense

Under current Mississippi law, DUIs cannot be pled down (nonadjudicated). This means it may be necessary to fight your DUI at trial, especially for a repeat offense or aggravated DUI.

Brent Brumley is a sustaining member of the National College for DUI Defense, and he is a certified Intoxilyzer operator and certified in standardized field sobriety testing. This training enables him to challenge the facts and procedures of your DUI arrest to give you the best shot at winning your case.

For a free consultation with our Jackson aggravated DUI attorney, call us today at 601-208-0137 or 800-896-4994 or contact us online.