The new Mississippi parole laws will affect many incarcerated people in the state. Governor Tate Reeves believes in protecting the community while giving a measured approach to second chances. Here’s what you need to know about the new parole laws in the state.
Mississippi new parole laws
Under the new law, inmates convicted of nonviolent crimes will be eligible for parole if they have served at least 25% of their sentence. This is a significant change from the previous criminal law statutes, which allowed inmates to be released after serving 50% of their sentence. The new law also requires that inmates complete a rehabilitation program before being considered for parole.
People convicted of armed robbery, drive-by shootings and carjacking will only be eligible for parole after serving 25 years or 60% of their sentence, whichever is less. Previously, these people were not allowed parole.
Those convicted of simple robbery, burglary or other violent crimes committed without a weapon may get parole after serving 50% of their sentence or 20 years, whichever is less. Additionally, people convicted of possession of drugs could get parole after serving 10 years or 25% of their sentence.
Exceptions to the new parole laws
Individuals convicted of drug trafficking, human trafficking, first-degree murder or second-degree murder won’t be eligible for parole. The same applies to habitual offenders.
How the laws will affect people in prison
These changes are likely to impact the number of people in state prisons in Mississippi. It is estimated that 3,000 out of 17,000 people in prison could become eligible in the next five years.
If you are incarcerated in Mississippi, it is important to learn about the new parole laws and how they may impact your case. Depending on your crime and the circumstances, you could be eligible.