Brent M. Brumley | Attorney At Law
Brent M. Brumley | Attorney At Law
Call for a Free Consultation

Call for a Free Consultation

Free background information available upon request.
Aggressive, effective legal counsel

Mississippi laws for disorderly conduct while intoxicated

On Behalf of | Aug 5, 2022 | Criminal Law |

Mississippi takes non-violent crimes seriously. There are certain situations when you can be arrested for disorderly conduct while intoxicated.

What is disorderly conduct?

Disorderly conduct is categorized along with the state’s laws surrounding disturbing the peace and failing to obey a police officer. It’s considered a crime to interfere with or prevent normal business operations of any public business. For example, if you are protesting in front of an establishment and preventing customers from entering and refusing to leave after being ordered to by a police officer, you can face disorderly conduct charges.

It’s also possible to be charged with disorderly conduct while intoxicated. This crime is often referred to as public intoxication. If a person is under the influence of alcohol, they might be more likely to engage in what’s considered disorderly conduct due to intoxication. An example of disorderly conduct while intoxicated might be a person wandering the street late at night and yelling after consuming large amounts of alcohol. Their behavior could disturb others and even disrupt people’s sleep.

What are the penalties for disorderly conduct while intoxicated?

Disorderly conduct and public intoxication are sometimes charged separately, but a person could be charged with both offenses as one crime. Disorderly conduct is classified as a misdemeanor crime and carries up to six months in jail and a fine of a maximum of $500. If a person refuses to comply with a police officer’s orders and their conduct causes injuries or death, they can be charged with a felony, which carries a maximum prison sentence of five years and a maximum fine of $20,000.

If a public intoxication charge is issued separately from disorderly conduct, the person can face a fine of $500 to $1,000 depending on whether they have a previous charge for the offense.

Even though disorderly conduct when intoxicated is usually charged as a misdemeanor, having the offense on your record can adversely affect your life.