Brent M. Brumley | Attorney At Law
Brent M. Brumley | Attorney At Law
Call for a Free Consultation

Call for a Free Consultation

Free background information available upon request.
Aggressive, effective legal counsel

Teen DUI in Mississippi: Consequences, options and guidance

On Behalf of | May 11, 2024 | Drunk Driving |

Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense, and in Mississippi, the law takes a strong stance against underage drunk driving. Mississippi essentially has a zero-tolerance law for drivers under the age of 21. It means that youths with any blood alcohol content (BAC) above 0.02% (adult limit is 0.08%) will likely face DUI charges.

Unfortunately, reaching a BAC level of 0.02% can occur even after just one drink since the threshold is so low. Teens might not feel intoxicated, but a breathalyzer could tell a different story.

Possible penalties for a first underage DUI include:

  • A fine of $250 to $1,000
  • And/or possible incarceration for up to 48 hours
  • Long-term suspension of driving privileges

Subsequent offenses pose even harsher consequences, impacting a young person’s life in multiple ways. Plus, a conviction can stay on their record for years, potentially hindering future opportunities.

Damage control is critical

As you can see, the possible consequences of a teen DUI are more severe than you may have imagined. Immediate damage control can prevent a worst-case outcome for your young adult. A representative can offer:

  • A thorough case assessment: To determine if law enforcement violated the teen’s rights during the incident
  • Skillful negotiations: To persuade prosecutors and the court to reduce the charges or penalties
  • Court representation: To advocate for the youth during court appearances

With legal help, you can also explore alternatives to incarceration and other penalties, helping to minimize the long-term effects of the DUI on your teen.