Brand
Call for a Free Consultation
Call for a Free Consultation
Free background information available upon request.
Aggressive, effective legal counsel

What are the DUI penalties in Mississippi?

On Behalf of | Mar 29, 2021 | Uncategorized |

Those who are convicted of a first-offense DUI in Mississippi must pay a fine that ranges from $250 to $1,000. Adults who are sentenced to jail time must spend up to 48 hours in jail, depending on the case. Some people also have their licenses suspended for 90 days to one year. DUI penalties include a minimum of 10 hours of attendance in a driver education program as well. Obtaining MS SR22 Insurance (proof of financial responsibility) is also a requirement.

A second-offense DUI penalty includes a $600 to $1,500 fine. Jail time is five days to one year with a two-year driver’s license suspension. Some people may also be required to do 10 days to one year of community service. Third-offense DUIs have a $2,000 to $5,000 fine and one to five years in jail, along with a five-year driver’s license suspension.

How to avoid a DUI penalty

You can avoid a drunk driving penalty by not operating a car if you’re intoxicated. You can also obtain a personal alcohol breath tester to determine if you exceed the legal limits before getting behind the wheel. Eating food while drinking can also help you avoid unintentionally driving while intoxicated and the drunk driving penalties that come with doing so.

Who can you contact for legal assistance?

If you need assistance after getting a DUI, contact an attorney who has experience handling similar cases. The legal professional can inform you of your legal rights and review the details of the case, as well as the evidence. You can have the additional edge to fight criminal charges and limit their impact on your personal and professional life by obtaining legal defense.