All states make driving under the influence of alcohol, and also legal and illegal drugs, a serious offense. Sometimes, even a low BAC level can cause a decrease in judgment and thinking. A driver in Jackson, Mississippi, who gets a DUI may face several penalties based on circumstances.
Overview of Mississippi DUI
The legal BAC, or blood alcohol content level is .08 for a standard driver and .04 for commercial drivers. The BAC is even lower for drivers under 21 at .02 under the state’s Zero Tolerance Law. A drunk driving charge based on BAC is called per se DUI, and the police don’t have to collect further evidence.
The state also has implied consent, which means a driver agrees to chemical testing by having a license. Most states enact aggravated DUI penalties, but unless it involves injury or death, Mississippi typically does not apply enhanced penalties.
DUI Penalties in Mississippi
Penalties for a first drunk driving offense in Mississippi commonly include a 90-day to one year license suspension. Jail time for a first offense is up to 48 hours or a $250-$1000 fine, or both. If drivers complete the required 10-hour mandatory alcohol education, they may get their license suspension lifted.
For a second offense, the driver commonly faces a jail sentence of five days to one year of jail. The fines range from $600 to $1500, a one-year license suspension, and 10 days to a year of community service. Drivers under 21 could face a $250 fine, a 90-day license suspension, and mandatory alcohol education.
A DUI can raise insurance rates and remain on record for a long time. However, sometimes mistakes are made during arrests, so they may find a loophole in the case.