Drug laws vary from state to state, and the particulars can vary significantly. Mississippi has statutes governing the possession and sale of cocaine, which determine the types of charges and potential punishments.
If you’re facing drug charges related to cocaine, it’s crucial that you make yourself aware of exactly how Mississippi treats cocaine-related offenses.
Thresholds for possession and selling cocaine
Cocaine is an illegal substance, both federally and by Mississippi law. As such, possessing any amount of cocaine is a criminal offense. However, the amount of cocaine possessed significantly affects the gravity of the charges you might face.
With cocaine possession:
- Less than 0.1 grams of cocaine is a misdemeanor
- 0.1 to 2 grams is a felony, punishable by up to three years in prison
- 2 to 10 grams is a felony, up to eight years in prison
- 10 to 30 grams is a felony, three to 20 years in prison
- More than 30 grams is considered trafficking, carrying a potential life sentence
With intent to sell cocaine:
- Less than 2 grams of cocaine is a felony punishable by no more than eight years in prison
- 2 to 10 grams is a felony, three to 20 years in prison
- Greater than 10 grams is a felony, five to 30 years in prison
Note that all these offenses also carry the potential for financial penalties, with the higher volume offenses carrying larger fines.
Offenses not directly related to cocaine
In addition to possession of cocaine being illegal, you can also be charged for either possessing cocaine paraphernalia (such as a crack pipe), or for knowingly receiving money derived from the transport or sale of cocaine.
Paraphernalia charges are misdemeanors, while drug money related offenses are felonies.
Mississippi has strict laws against cocaine, with a staggered multi-tier schedule of punishments governed primarily by how much cocaine you had in your possession. In addition, it’s possible to be charged with offenses not directly related to the cocaine.